Css media

CSs are not village elders, Ruto to those who thank him for choosing CSs in their communities

President William Ruto addressing congregants at Kericho County Green Stadium on October 16, 2022. [Brian Okoth, Standard]

President William Ruto has told Kenyans that cabinet secretaries in his government will serve all Kenyans equally, regardless of the ethnic community an individual CS is from.

He said this Sunday, October 16 during an interfaith church service in Kericho after a section of leaders thanked him for choosing CSs in their communities.

Some speakers called for additional positions in government to be given to members of their communities.

The president has yet to name the principal secretaries and chief administrative secretaries of his government.

“I heard you say that some CSs are from such and such a region. I want to tell you that none of the ministers in my government are village elders or county executives,” Ruto said during his speech at Kericho Green Stadium.

“All CSs I have appointed will serve Kenyans, and they belong to Kenyans. I want tribalism to end in Kenya. I want all Kenyans to have confidence in ministers that their welfare (of Kenyans) will be taken into account.

The head of state has further allayed fears of marginalization, especially among Kenyans who did not vote for him in the presidential election on August 9, 2022.

“There is no chance that the development will only concern certain regions. We will ensure that feelings of marginalization are eliminated by firmly and resolutely fighting inequality, and we will ensure that the government of Kenya serves all citizens equally, because we have only one country to call home, and that country is Kenya, and we only have one government of Kenya at a time.

The 22 candidates for the post of Cabinet Secretary will be selected from Monday 17 October.

On Friday, October 14, the Clerk of the National Assembly, Serah Kioko, released the timetable indicating when the CS candidates will be considered by the Nominations Committee.

The commission is made up of National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula (Chairman), Nelson Koech (Belgut), Rahab Mukami (Nyeri), Dido Ali Raso (Saku), George Murugara (Tharaka), David Gikaria (Nakuru East), Ferdinand Wanyonyi (Kwanza), Mary Emaase (Teso South), Abdul Rahim Dawood (North Imenti), Junet Mohamed (Suna East), Caleb Amisi (Saboti), Stephen Mule (Matungulu), Abdi Shurie (Balambala), Naisula Lesuuda (Samburu West ), David Pkosing (South Pokot) and Mishi Mboko (Likoni).

The candidate for the position of Chief Cabinet Secretary, Musalia Mudavadi, will be the first to be considered on Monday, October 17 at 9 am.

Mercy Wanjau, who will be selected for the post of Cabinet Secretary, will be the last to appear before the Nominations Committee at 2.30pm on Saturday October 22.

The audit will take place at the Parliament Buildings in Nairobi.

Below is the full schedule: